What’s your sales horror story?

Closing and success stories are super popular, but what about real screw-ups? Do you guys have any sales memories you cringe at the thought of? To start, here’s mine: I work as a technical sales rep and a couple years back, I had a demonstration for a prospect I really wanted to sell to. I had prepared for this for weeks and was super paranoid about being late, so I arrived about 40 minutes earlier and grabbed a grape soda to calm my nerves. I was on the elevator up, giving myself a final one over when I noticed on the mirror surface that my mouth, lips, teeth, and tongue were all bright purple! Rushed to the nearest bathroom but couldn’t get it off for the life of me. I was mortified but still forced myself to walk into the room and give the pitch. People laughed it off but, no surprise that no sales were made that day.

1 Like

Hey @jess_ar, thanks for sharing your sales horror story! It’s always cathartic to share embarrassing stories. I am a sales rep for a Japanese firm and when I was starting out, I made a lot of cultural mistakes. On my first trip to Japan, I didn’t know 1 word of the language. Needless to say, it was a culture shock to me. I was late to their office, I shook hands instead of bowing, and couldn’t hold chopsticks at our first dinner out. I’m happy to say I’m working on my Japanese and learning cultural norms. Sales can still be made after an embarrassing moment!