How to prospect?

Hi everyone! I’m new to sales, industrial machinery sales in particular, and am really struggling with prospecting. I’m aware of some of the ways to do find new prospects, like cold calling or through networking, but I don’t know how to go about each method. I feel awkward straight contacting people and introducing them to my products, and it usually gets uncomfortable for everyone involved. Any tips on best prospecting practices or things to consider when prospecting? Thanks a bunch!

1 Like

Hi EZhou,

First off congrats on the new job and for taking on a sales roll. Industrial Machinery is not easy. But you overcame it and now have the job. Second you need to get past that awkward feeling because if you are selling products they need, then the prospects needs to meet you.

I’ve been selling for a long time and have had to realize that I’ve had to reinvent myself a few times. With different products, different companies and different customers, your style of selling will change for sure.

First always remember that every door you knock on will have an outcome, you need to pursue those outcomes. You might find a new friend, a customer or info where you should be headed. Even if the the prospect says no then you know were you stand.

The very best way to find your prospects is through LinkedIn. Just search for the title of your prospects. Such as “maintenance manager” or “facilities planner” for example. Then you can narrow your search from that list. Start connecting with those contacts and build your network. When calling for your appointments I find it helps to say, “so & so recommended I call you”. (Use a name they are connected with on LinkedIn). Maybe use a service like LeadGibbon to get their email address as well. Build your list so you can start marketing to them besides your email to introduce yourself.