How to get over a prospect’s head?

Hi all! I’m new to sales (almost 6 months in) and am wondering how to get to the final decision maker involved sooner? I usually get to the building good rapport stage with my initial contact and struggle to go further. How can I get over the prospect’s head without explicitly asking for an introduction to the DM? Can the community share some of the tactics that’s worked for y’all? Thanks!

In my experience, after going through a few initial meetings and establishing rapport with your primary contact - it’s perfectly reasonable to ask “is there anyone else you can introduce me too, or that I should be speaking with regarding Product X?” Keep in mind, especially if your new to sales and selling something complex, the 7 touch rule. Generally it takes 7 touches before someone says “yes,” and that just takes time. This is particularly true if your working on displacing an entrenched competitor.

Another strategy that has worked for me is setting up/hosting a Lunch & Learn, making sure that decision maker is invited/anyone else whom is relevant is invited. Make sure this is planned out in advance where their calendar is open, and work with your primary contact to invite the most relevant individuals. After all, who doesn’t jump at a free lunch? You may even reach other relevant individuals or penetrate a different segment of said account.

Good luck!

HI, welcome to sales! Ask some less direct, clarifying questions like “am I correct in assuming that you’re the final decision maker to X project?”, “can you share the info of those who would be involved in this deal?”, or something similar might work in getting the prospect to direct you to a higher-up. Although this typically only works when they already think you’re a good fit, it’s still worth a shot. Good luck!