Advice on meetings with potential clients

I am relatively new to sales, and I need to improve my communication skills when meeting with potential new clients. I don’t want to come off as overbearing, but I also don’t want to be too humble. I would love to get some feedback on finding the right balance of persuasiveness and attentiveness. How do you do it to avoid sounding too pushy or desperate?

Hi Georgia,

Good question. I always tell people, to grow into a great sales person don’t act like a sales person. Treat your meetings as if you are meeting with a friend. Remember people don’t care what you know until they know that you care.

One of my recent sales people would always walk into a room and talk about himself for 10 minutes before he asked a single question. Show that you care by asking questions. Know who your customer is so you can ask questions that lead them to an easy decision. If they tell you something of concern then ask about previous experiences.

Be confident in what you are selling and start presenting when you spot the customer needs through asking your questions. Make it very simple, complexity will loose them.

Your value is the solution you bring to the table in the service or product you sell and your personal service. The tipping point will always be your personal service, make yourself the point person for everything and that you are only one phone call away. Be confidant in that and hammer it home.

Good luck.

1 Like

Georgia,

Job Site Safety nailed it! Ask questions. If you don’t know what to ask, go to the successful sales people at your company and learn what they like to ask their customers.

Expect that you’ll make some mistakes. Just be sure to learn from them. Good luck & have fun!